Francis Macdonald to release new album

Francis MacDonald - Music For String Quartet and Celeste

Teenage Fanclub drummer Francis Macdonald is releasing a new album of classical music on March 30th. “Music For String Quartet, Piano And Celeste” is an instrumental album recorded in Glasgow.

Francis states “As a listener I came quite late to classical music and I have no formal training, but I didn’t want to use an arranger or orchestrator. I wanted to be responsible for every note.”

The album was recorded at Mogwai’s Castle Of Doom studio with with musicians from Scottish Ensemble.

The tracklisting for the album is:
1. Playful
2. 20 Sep
3. January Waltz
4. At A Remove
5. Ghent
6. 3 4 5
7. Antoine Duhamel
8. Triet For David Hockney
9. September Weekend
10. Sunday 1
11. 17 Days

You can hear the track ’20 Sep’ below.

Pre-order the signed cd and vinyl from his site.
Pre-order the download from iTunes here.

You can keep up to date with Francis’ blog at