Primal Scream announce Maximum Rock ‘n’ Roll compilation

Primal Scream have announced a career spanning compilation of their first 30 years called Maximum Rock ‘n’ Roll.

Available over 2CDs or 4LPs spread across two volumes with Volume 1 featuring tracks from the Creation-era of 1986 to 2000 whilst Volume 2 covers 2000 to 2016.

“Right from our 1985 debut ‘All Fall Down’ onward we’ve approached singles as an aesthetic choice, a statement of where we are as a band. We grew up with ‘Suffragette City’ and ‘Metal Guru’ flying out of the radio. The four Sex Pistols singles were great. ‘Public Image’ by PiL sounded like nothing else. Prince and Madonna made amazing hits. That has been our approach. I’ve always loved Top 40 pop radio, I love greatest hits albums like The Who’s ‘Meaty, Beaty, Big & Bouncy’.

Bobby Gillespie

The press release states:

Primal Scream compile one of the greatest singles discographies into one expansive best of collection with ‘Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll: The Singles’, from across all 11 albums.

Over the past three and a half decades, Primal Scream have embraced everything from psychedelic pop to degenerate rock’n’roll; euphoric rave to industrial gloom. They have made records with George Clinton and Kate Moss, invited Mani of the Stone Roses and Kevin Shields of My Bloody Valentine into the fold, survived narcotic oblivion, personal trauma and the death of beloved guitarist Robert “Throb” Young, and captured the mood of the nation several times over. Throughout it all, they have always sounded like Primal Scream. And they have always made great singles. 

From their psychedelic roots to the era-defining hedonism of ‘Screamadelica’ through to the sonic attack of ‘XTRMNTR’ and beyond, the eclectic nature of Primal Scream has been matched by the sheer consistency of their singles and they have become part of Britain’s musical heritage.

Tracklistings of both albums can be found below.

Volume 1 (1986-2000)

Volume 1

Side: 1

  1. Velocity Girl
  2. Gentle Tuesday
  3. Imperial
  4. Ivy Ivy Ivy
  5. Loaded

Side: 2

  1. Come Together
  2. Higher Than the Sun (The Orb Mix) [Remastered]
  3. Don’t Fight It, Feel It (7″ Edit) [Remastered]
  4. Movin’ on Up

Side: 3

  1. Rocks
  2. Jailbird
  3. (I’m Gonna) Cry Myself Blind
  4. Kowalski

Side: 4

  1. Star
  2. Burning Wheel
  3. Swastika Eyes
  4. Kill All Hippies (Brendan Lynch Edit) [Remastered]

Order Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll volume 1 on vinyl here

Volume 2 (2000-2016)

Volume 2 sleeve

Side: 1

  1. Accelerator
  2. Miss Lucifer
  3. Autobahn 66
  4. Some Velvet Morning – Primal Scream feat. Kate Moss

Side: 2

  1. Country Girl
  2. Dolls (Sweet Rock and Roll)
  3. Sometimes I Feel So Lonely

Side: 3

  1. Can’t Go Back
  2. Uptown
  3. 2013
  4. It’s Alright, It’s OK

Side: 4

  1. Goodbye Johnny
  2. Where the Light Gets In – Primal Scream feat. Sky Ferreira
  3. 100% or Nothing

Order Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll Volume 2 on vinyl here

Order Maximum Rock’N’Roll double cd here