Primal Scream to release The Original Memphis Sessions

Album cover

25 years later Primal Scream are set to release the original Tom Dowd recordings of the Give Out But Don’t Give Up album from 1993.

The tracks were recorded in Memphis but upon delivery to Creation some of the tracks were later re-recorded with George Drakoulias as the label felt there were no hit singles.

The album will be released on 12th October across the usual formats, the LP version contain just the Tom Dowd session whilst other formats include a bonus disc of outakes.

See the tracklisting below:

Disc 1 – Tom Dowd album mix

  1. Jailbird (The Original Memphis Recordings)
  2. Rocks (The Original Memphis Recordings)
  3. Call on Me (The Original Memphis Recordings)
  4. Everybody Needs Somebody (The Original Memphis Recordings)
  5. Sad and Blue (The Original Memphis Recordings)
  6. Big Jet Plane (The Original Memphis Recordings)
  7. Free (The Original Memphis Recordings)
  8. Jesus (The Original Memphis Recordings)
  9. (I’m Gonna) Cry Myself Blind (The Original Memphis Recordings)

Disc 2 – Ardent outakes

  1. Billy / To Love Somebody (Medley)
  2. Memphis Groove (Unreleased Song)
  3. Sad & Blue (Early Version)
  4. Blue Moon of Kentucky / Trying to Get to You
  5. Big Jet Plane (Early Sitar Jam 1)
  6. Free (Full Band Rehearsal Jam, Bobby Vocal)
  7. Everybody Needs Somebody (Alternative Recording)
  8. Country Guitar
  9. Jailbird Guitar
  10. Jesus (Monitor Mix)
  11. Funky Jam
  12. Free (Early Rehearsal sitar, Bobby Vocal)
  13. Call On Me (Monitor Mix, Loud Guitars / No Horns Mix)
  14. Cry Myself Blind (Monitor Mix)
  15. All I Have to Do Is Dream

Order the 2xLP vinyl here.

Order the 2xCD here.

Order the download here.

Studio p

Watch Primal Scream promoting Give Out But Don’t Give Up with a headlining slot at the 1994 Reading Festival below.