The House of Love announce 30th anniversary repress and tour

This month marks the 30th anniversary of The House of Love debut album being released by Creation Records.

1988 was an exciting year for The House of Love and the band will be celebrating this with a string of dates performing the album alongside some reissues.

The album has been fully remastered and will be released on vinyl and a 5CD set.

Order the 5CD hardback book edition

Order the double vinyl edition

In June 1988 the House of Love had already released three singles, Shine On originally released in May 1987 had created minor ripples in the UK Indie Chart peaking at number 19 whilst follow-up Real Animal had failed to chart completely. In May 1988 that all changed when their third single Christine climbed to number 4 in the indies including a brief appearance on the Chart Show.

Upon the albums release a few weeks later things changed almost overnight, the UK music press were looking to fill the gap left by The Smiths who’d split the previous year and Chadwick and Bickers were being touted as the new Morrissey and Marr. Various tracks from the album were played almost nightly on John Peel’s late night BBC show reinforcing the bands position as one of the UK’s most exciting bands.

By August with the release of Destroy The Heart, a new single containing 3 brand new tracks, the band were featured on the cover of all the weekly music papers and headlined the Doing It For The Kids Creation All-Dayer in London.

The band ended the year with three tracks in John Peel’s Festive Fifty including ‘Destroy The Heart’ at number 1. To coincide with this all the non-album tracks were featured in a compilation know as the German album which is featured on both of the new formats.

Order the 5CD hardback book edition

Order the double vinyl edition

The full tracklist for the 5CD is as follows:
Disc One
The Album
1. Christine
2. Hope
3. Road
4. Sulphur
5. Man To Child
6. Salome
7. Love In A Car
8. Happy
9. Fisherman’s Tale
10. Touch Me

Bonus Tracks
11. Shine On (Demo – Lp Bonus 7”)
12. Christine (Demo – Lp Bonus 7”)

Disc Two
Singles Demos & Rarities
1. Shine On
2. Love
3. Flow
4. Real Animal
5. Plastic
6. Nothing To Me
7. The Hill
8. Loneliness Is A Gun
9. The Hedonist
10. Welt
11. Destroy The Heart
12. Blind
13. Mr. Jo
14. Shine On (Guy Chadwick Demo)
15. Real Animal (Demo)
16. Touch Me (Demo)
17. Happy (Demo)
18. Road (Early Mix)
19. Salome (Early Mix)
20. Fisherman’s Tale (Early Mix)
21. Shine On (Fuck Version) (Flexidisc)

disc Three:
Demos And Early Mixes
1. Road (Longer Early Mix) *
2. Sulphur (Early Mix) *
3. Happy (Early Mix) *
4. Fisherman’s Tale (Early Mix) *
5. Touch Me (Early Mix) *
6. Salome (Early Mix) *
7. Shine On (Band Demo)
8. Real Animal (16 Track Demo)
9. Christine (16 Track Demo)
10. Hold On Me (16 Track Demo)
11. Hope (Early Mix)
12. Man To Child (Early Mix)
13. Love In A Car (Early Mix)
14. Modern World (Welt) (Demo)
15. Little Girl (Mr Jo) (Early Mix)
16. Sulphur (Early Mix)
17. Happy (Early Mix)
18. Touch Me (Early Mix)
19. Shine On (Early Mix) *
20. Real Animal (Early Mix) *
21. Destroy The Heart (Early
Version – No Guitar) *
* Previously Unissued

Disc Four
John Peel Sessions
1. Destroy The Heart
2. Nothing To Me
3. Plastic
4. Blind
5. The Hedonist
6. Don’t Turn Blue
7. Safe
8. Love In A Car
9. In A Room
10. The Beatles And Thestones
11. Christine
12. Loneliness Is A Gun

Disc Five
In Concert
Vredenburg, Utrecht, Holland
1. Christine *
2. Man To Child *
3. Road *
4. Shine On *

Groningen, Holland
5. Plastic *
6. Sulphur *
7. Touch Me *
8. Nothing To Me *
9. I Don’t Know Why I Love You But I Do

Top Rank, Brighton
10. Never *
11. Se Dest *
12. The Hedonist *
13. Soft As Fire *

La Cigale, Paris, France
14. Fisherman’s Tale *
15. Happy *
16. Love In A Car
17. Destroy The Heart
18. I Wanna Be Your Dog
*Previously unreleased

The CD version is a hardback book set with fresh sleeve-notes from NME journalist Neil Taylor (with interview quotes from lead singer/guitarist Guy Chadwick and original bassist Chris Groothuizen) and rare images from the band’s photographer Suzie Gibbons.

Order the 5CD hardback book edition

The tracklisting for the vinyl version is:
Disc One: The Album
Side One
1. Christine
2. Hope
3. Road
4. Sulphur
5. Man To Child

Side Two
1. Salome
2. Love In A Car
3. Happy
4. Fisherman’s Tale
5. Touch Me

Disc Two: The Singles
Side One
1. Shine On
2. Love
3. Flow
4. Real Animal
5. Plastic
6. Nothing To Me
7. The Hill

Side Two
1. Loneliness Is A Gun
2. The Hedonist
3. Welt
4. Destroy The Heart
5. Blind
6. Mr. Jo

Order the double vinyl edition

The dates are as follows with tickets available from the usual places:

01 November 18 – Bristol – SWX
02 November 18 – Manchester – Albert Hall
07 November 18 – Newcastle – Boiler Shop
08 November 18 – Glasgow – ABC
09 November 18 – Leeds – Becketts
10 November 18 – London – Roundhouse