The Pastels to release new album

The Pastels

The Pastels are set to release their first full studio album since 1997’s Illumination in May. Slow Summits will be released via Domino on 27th May 2013 on CD, vinyl & download.

Recorded in Glasgow by John McEntire and Bal Cooke, and mixed in Chicago by McEntire, Slow Summits features the core Pastels lineup of Stephen McRobbie, Katrina Mitchell, Tom Crossley, Gerard Love, Alison Mitchell and John Hogarty. Guests include original member Annabel Wright (Aggi) and Norman Blake. Two-thirds of To Rococo Rot (Stefan Schneider and Ronald Lippok) also contribute along with Tenniscoats.

The tracklisting for the album is:

1 Secret Music

2 Night Time Made Us

3 Check My Heart

4 Summer Rain

5 After Image

6 Kicking Leaves

7 Wrong Light

8 Slow Summits

9 Come to the Dance

A video preview for the album is below. You can also read a rare interview with Stephen Pastel posted today on Quietus.